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RE: Rule 28 2015 Final Report
Dear POST Board Members:

Background Information

Rule 28 - In-Service Training Program went into effect January 2015.

The purpose of in-service training is to provide continuing education to certified
peace officers to develop their knowledge and/or skills. In-service training is
mandatory for certified peace officers who are currently employed in positions
requiring certified peace officers as defined in Colorado Revised Statutes section 16-
2.5-102. This includes certified full-time, part-time and reserve peace officers.

Annual Hour Requirement:

The in-service training program requires certified peace officers to complete a
minimum of 24 hours of in-service training annually. Of the 24 hours, a minimum of
12 hours shall be perishable skills training, defined as arrest control, driving and
firearms.

Training Period:

The training period shall be the calendar year, defined as January 1 to December
31, of each year. In-service training in excess of 24 hours each year shall not be
credited towards any future or prior training period.

Approved Training for POST Credit:

The authority and responsibility for training shall be with the chief executive of
each law enforcement agency. The chief executive accepts responsibility and
liability for the course content and instructor qualifications. Legislatively-
mandated training may also be used for credit towards the training requirement.

Compliance:

A preliminary compliance report for agencies that were out of compliance went out
on January 20, 2016. If an agency was not in compliance with Rule 28, that agency
had 30 days from the date of the preliminary report to dispute the POST data and
provide additional training information for 2015. Following the thirty-day period,
POST distributed the final compliance reports on February 24, 2016 to all agencies
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still out of compliance. If an agency is out of compliance, all POST funding will be
suspended (Region Grant funds, In-Service Continuing Ed funds, and Marijuana
funds). The suspension of funds will be effective from July 1, 2016 to December
31, 2016. POST funding will be reinstated January 1, 2017 if that agency is in
compliance with Rule 28 for 2016.

POST Actions Taken

A new position, In-Service Training Manager, was created to implement, manage
and coordinate this new rule. Bob Baker was hired into this position October 20,

2014 and the following steps were taken to ensure agencies around the state were
aware of Rule 28 and how to enter training into the POST Portal (Acadis):

From November 2014 to January 2015, POST reached out to over 100
different agencies by phone to explain Rule 28.

In January 2015, a mass email went out to all agencies in the State of
Colorado explaining Rule 28. A step-by-step guide was attached to that email
explaining how to enter training into the POST Portal (Acadis).

The POST In-Service Training Manager attended several meetings in the
spring and summer of 2015 to explain and answer any questions about Rule
28:

New Chief’s Academy

Winter Sheriff’'s Conference

Winter Undersheriff Conference

New Sheriff's Academy

Greater Metro Chiefs' Association

I-70 Training Region

I-70 Chief Executive Association

Greater Metro Training Region

Central Mountain Training Foundation

San Luis Valley Training Region (phone conference)

West Central Training Region

North Central Training Region
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Larimer County Sheriff’'s Office and surrounding agencies

POST met with 15 agencies individually to explain Rule 28 and conducted
training on how to enter training into the POST Portal.

During October 2015 to January 2016, POST sent out 61 compliance reports
to agencies asking for their report so they could make sure they were in
compliance.
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In November of 2015, POST sent out 40 emails to agencies that were still not

entering training into the POST Portal.

In November 2015 through January 2016, POST made hundreds of calls to
agencies reminding them that training needed to be entered and answered

any questions agencies might have about Rule 28.

2015 Compliance Report

The preliminary compliance report went out to all agencies that were out of
compliance January 20, 2016. At that time there were 57 agencies and roughly 500
officers out of compliance.

The final report went out February 24, 2016 to all agencies that were still out of
compliance. At that time 27 agencies were out of compliance and this included 121
total officers from around the state. The table below shows the breakdown of
Regions and how they compare to each other:

Training Total Agencies In A%encies Total Officers In Officers
. . . ut of . Out of
Region Agencies | Compliance C . Officers | Compliance .
ompliance Compliance
San Luis 17 8 9 162 135 27
Valley
South 22 18 4 238 299 16
East
NGk 26 22 4 542 531 11
Central
Greater 56 54 2 7,352 7,332 20
Metro
North 35 32 3 1,812 1,791 21
Central
North 18 16 2 191 185 6
East
Central 28 27 1 1,972 1,963 9
Mountain
I-70 West 30 29 1 497 490 7
North
West 10 9 1 142 138 4
South
West 12 12 0 294 294 0
Total 254 227 27 13,202 13,081 121
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B Agencies In Compliance: 227

B Agencies Out of Compliance: 27

County Sheriff's Offices Out of Compliance

Costilla County
Gilpin County
Huerfano County
Jackson County
Pitkin County

Rio Grande County
Saguache County
San Miguel County

Police Departments Out of Compliance

Antonito

Brush

Colorado Springs
Del Norte
Denver

Fort Lupton
Granada

La Jara
Manassa
Manzanola
Mount Crested Butte
Nederland

Oak Creek
Olathe

Sanford

South Fork
Wiggins

Marshal's Offices Out of Compliance
Aguilar
Collbran
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m Officers In Compliance: 13,081

m Officers Out of Compliance: 121

Waivers

Rule 28 allows for agencies to request waivers for their officers for the following
reasons: medical, military, partial-year employment, and skills (arrest control,
driving, and firearms). Per Rule 28, “Any waiver of the annual training request
must be made in writing to the POST Director prior to the end of the calendar year
(December 31).” A total of 99 agencies requested waivers and 81 agency waivers
were granted. The following chart shows the waivers that POST received for
calendar year 2015:

B Medical (43)

H Military (30)

m Partial Year Employment (70)
| All Skills  (2)

M Driving (301)

H Firearms (6)

m Arrest Control (1)

= Admin or Hardship (6)

Total Waivers for 2015 = 459
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Issues and Concerns

¢ Reserve Officers must have the same hours as full-time and part-time officers.
Many agencies were out of compliance because their reserve officers didn’t have the
required training. This was the number one reason for non-compliance.

e Many agencies waited until the end of the year to start entering training into the
POST portal. It was very hard for agencies to get caught up and fix any mistakes
that occurred.

e Most of the waivers came into POST after the December 31st deadline. This will be
strictly adhered to in 2016.

e POST will create forms and procedures for streamlining the process this year. We
are already working with Envisage to make it easier for agencies and POST staff to
track the training.

e Some agencies had a hard time getting officers trained because they started training
late in the year.

e POST received many complaints, especially from large agencies, that 100%
compliance for an agency is unrealistic.

e Another common complaint was that it makes no sense to take away funding for
agencies struggling to get training. Agencies without the funding will have no
opportunity for training.

e There was confusion from some agencies that interpreted the rule as only requiring
12 hours in any of the perishable skill areas and not requiring all three of the
perishable skills each year. At the December 2015 Board meeting the rule was
changed to read, “Perishable skills training shall consist of a minimum of 12 hours.
The minimum 12 hours must include all three of the perishable skills (Arrest
Control, Driving, and Firearms) each calendar year”.

e POST will review how waivers are handled. Each agency sending waiver requests to
the POST Director was cumbersome and must be streamlined.
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Summary

The overall goal of Rule 28 was to ensure law enforcement officers in Colorado were
getting the necessary training each year. There were 13,202 officers required to
meet the new annual in-service training requirement and 13,081 officers were in
compliance. Approximately 99% of the officers were in compliance with Rule 28,
leaving less than 1% of the required peace officers out of compliance as of December
31, 2015. Out of 254 agencies in the state required to follow Rule 28, 236, or 89%, of
the agencies were in compliance, leaving 27, or 11%, of the agencies out of
compliance.

As a state 1n 2015, Colorado peace officers participated in over 1.34 million hours of
training, of which over 422,000 hours were in perishable skills.

Sincerely,

FOR THE ATTORNEY GENERAL
/ / M
/W‘éj g /

CORY AMEND
POST Director



